Research School of Astronomy & Astrophysics

The Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics (RSAA) is the Australian National University’s department of astronomy and astrophysics.

The RSAA is located at the Mount Stromlo Observatory (MSO), a 20-minute drive from the main Acton campus of ANU near the centre of Canberra, Australia’s capital city. The RSAA also operates Siding Spring Observatory (SSO), which is Australia’s largest optical observatory, and is located near the town of Coonabarabran in the western plains of New South Wales, and hosts telescopes of research groups from around the world as well as those of RSAA and other Australian institutions.

The Canberra Astronomical Society works closely with the RSAA

For more information about the RSAA, please visit the RSAA website.